Un-smarting and Purging Networks Explained


#1

What does un-smarting a network mean?

Un-smarting a network is the process of removing the setup script from the router and removing the network from the database. After the network is un-smart, it will no longer be available for management from the dashboard.

What does purging a network mean?

Purging a network is the process of removing the network from the database without removing the setup script from the router. After a network is purged, it will no longer be available for management from the dashboard, however, the setup scripts will not be removed from the router.

A smart-disable script will be left on the router. We recommend that you execute the smart-disable script on a router to manually remove all smart scripts from a router that has been purged rather than un-smarted. Purging is only available for “inactive” or offline routers that are no longer reachable.